Inspiration

The word, inspiration, means different things to different people depending on the context in which it is used. If a group of artists are talking, inspiration could take on a completely different meaning to a discussion between a group of teachers for example. Not only does it depend on the people, but also the place and time would alter the discussion. For instance, when we think about inspiration in the workplace it would probably be very different to our perception of inspiration in our personal lives. Whatever the circumstance though, our life would become pretty boring without some kind of inspiration. I find inspiration in many places; books, artwork, my children, friends and nature. I have struggled to find inspiration for work of late, I will admit, but I keep looking. Given this fact, I am going to focus on inspiration in my personal life for this post.

Being inspired is a great feeling. It makes you feel like you can do anything and it gets you started on the road towards whatever it is that you’ve been inspired to do. It might be to redecorate or build something or learning how to knit. It doesn’t matter what the activity is, if you’re feeling inspired, nothing can stand in your way at the start. Maintaining that feeling is the tough part though right?! I find that if I am not seeing results, my inspiration tends to wane pretty quickly. This is especially true if it was something that I’ve taken up on a whim. Scrapbooking is a good example of this for me. When I first started this magic craft for photos, I couldn’t get enough. I bought a heap of stuff and got together with other avid Scrapbookers and cut and glued and quoted my way happily through several albums but it was relatively short lived. Sure I still do it from time to time if I have nothing much else to do but the inspiration is gone. This wasn’t due to lack of results however. Results with this pastime are immediate. So what happened? The answer is; the need that Scrapbooking filled was no longer purposeful to me. Perhaps that is the key to ongoing inspiration. Finding a need that will always be purposeful. I believe that I have found this in my life: self-improvement.

I have always enjoyed the challenge of improving myself and have never lost inspiration to do this. Some improvements have been physical and some have not but there are always improvements to be made. Often this improvement takes the form of self-reflection and spending some time thinking about how I handled a situation or thinking about the things I said and how I said them. In doing this, I have always been able to come up with a way to do it better next time. Although I’ve always enjoyed this part of my personality, it had dwindled in recent times due to an incessant sadness that took most of my energy to hide, leaving very little strength for anything else. This has recently changed however and I find myself feeling more like myself again and having the inspiration for continued self-improvement. This partly came about from within me but also in part from a man. A beautiful soul who I believe was cut from the same cosmic cloth as I was. I have gained inspiration from him but it is maintained from me.

Inspiration is not the only positive influence that he has brought into my life and I have no doubt that these things will come up in later posts but he inspires me every day to be a better person than I was the day before. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if I did the same for him? Perhaps one day I will find out but for today, I am happy being inspired by him.

b&w

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

